Flash Fiction Foray-‘Tomorrow’s (Just another day)’

It’s that time of week again, and we only have one piece to showcase at the end of this event: Ritu, from But I Smile Anyway…, I particularly enjoyed the completely different attitude conveyed within her piece from her others, and as calensariel put it, “I can almost feel a teenage-type angst in that”.

Ritu’s post: “It doesn’t matter

My take on the prompt (spot the bizarre references to the Beatles and Ulysses for bonus points):

Yesterday all my troubles were so far away. I thought I’d done my best, the words of Vitai Lampada sprung to mind: “Play up, play up, and play the game!” I thought I’d played the game, I thought I’d won the game. But of course I didn’t, I’m down on my luck, but I’m down and not out. Tomorrow I’ll rise from the ashes, the phoenix from the flames, tomorrow I’ll move Earth and heaven, time and fate are against me, but I’ll have my last hurrah, my final innings. Tomorrow, I will live, and tomorrow I will rise.

3 thoughts on “Flash Fiction Foray-‘Tomorrow’s (Just another day)’

  1. I am so enjoying these. I’m such a wordy little beggar when I write that I am drawn to the compactness of these writings. Is that the word I’m looking for? I enjoyed both pieces very much.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment