Blogging year in review-part 2

My best post

Ironically I feel that I write my best when I’m not on the topic of a single book in particular. Instead, I feel lists such as this one on Harry Potter supporting characters, or this one on my favourite book covers, and even posts which are not about books are when my writing is at its strongest (such as my list of most hated words). The best work featured on my blog though without a shadow of doubt is all the Flash Fiction Foray entries, which are always interesting and enjoyable to read. I think the best edition so far has been on Adele’s Hello, where there were seven different responses.

My worst post

I am very scathing when I find spelling mistakes in the works of others, be it in print or online (loath though I am to admit it, I do sometimes silently judge…), so when I make the very mistakes I despise I do (rightly) feel a bit bad for my thoughts of others. Today alone going back over my posts, I found three typographical mistakes (shakes head in disgust). Aside from that, it is probably one of the ones that doesn’t focus on books or on readers, but on myself. Posts like that often manage to read like a plea for attention for rightly or wrongly (case in point), and I have made a mental note to avoid writing them in future. Alhough I always enjoy reading such posts of others, I strongly dislike my own such posts!

Next year?

I’ve got five reviews that have been lying around for months to use, and I keep meaning to write reviews on books I have read recently-A People’s History of BritainGhostThe Mission SongAmong the Thugs… I doubt I’ll do them all, maybe just one or two, but I am planning an increase in lists and other literary (and maybe not so literary!) posts, so stay tuned!

Thank you so much to you all for sticking with me, and I hope you all have a merry Christmas and a great 2016!

9 thoughts on “Blogging year in review-part 2

Leave a Reply

