Summertime Madness Tag

I have been tagged to do this by the wonderful Lauren from Driftinglexi, and so without further ado, I present my responses to the Summertime Madness Tag…

Show a book with a summery cover.

Red Fox From www.davidicke.com
Red Fox
From http://www.davidicke.com

Having initially read this as ‘summary’ rather than ‘summery’, I had to rapidly change from A Kill in the Morning to the more peaceful Swallows and Amazons. As Lauren said there is a plethora of books which could be used for this, but I have fond memories of reading Arthur Ransome’s book, and it has a nice picture. Did I mention that I’m a sucker for a nice picture?

Pick one fictional place that would be the perfect destination for a summer vacation.

Hogwarts. Who doesn’t want to go to Hogwarts? Mischief, mayhem, and a healthy dose of magic all make Hogwarts the perfect place to spend a holiday. I’m not sure how restful it would be though…

You’re about to go on a flight to your summer vacation. But you want to read a book that lasts for the whole flight, what novella do you choose?

I’m not sure how summery it is, but Animal Farm has some strong morals which should not be forgotten, and it’s a good length for a flight (alongside some shut-eye).

You have a case of summertime sadness what happy book do you pick up to shine a smile on your face?

I’ve got a whole list of funny books I could choose from and which are my perennial favourites for a chuckle, so it would have to be one of those.

You’re sitting at the beach all alone…which fictional character would be your beach babe?

I’m not sure about having them along as ‘beach babes’ (but then again my understanding of the term is dubious), but as strong and independent minded women I think that spending time with Susan and Lucy Pevensie would be intriguing.

To match your ice cream you want an icy cool sidekick! Which fictional side kick do you pick?

Butler from Artimus Fowl. He’s hard as nails and droll, plus he’s a first rate bodyguard and an excellent friend to Artimus.

I dislike tagging people to do these, but if anyone wants to carry it on, please be my guest!

I’m going away over the bank holiday weekend, so I’m afraid I’ll be unable to read any posts during that time.

One thought on “Summertime Madness Tag

Leave a Reply

