Post 100-a celebration?

What to say, but thank you all for your support! Image from Wikimedia Commons and Jon Ashcroft reused under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic license
What to say, but thank you all for your support!
Image from Wikimedia Commons and Jon Ashcroft reused under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic license

This is my 100 hundredth post on this blog, and as such will focus a little more on what’s coming up and where we’ve got to rather than on literature. Oh. and some thank yous. A lot of thank yous.

What’s coming up?

I’ve got a few things planned (read: unwritten), including:

*A piece in defence of the young adult genre

*’Top Ten in Ten Days’, ten days worth of top ten lists. I’m not yet sure what’s going to happen with regular posts such as the Foray, but it sounds like it may be a fun thing to both write and plan (ideas are appreciated!). This is more of a long term idea, I’ve not given it much thought yet but it is an interesting and exciting prospect

*A planned lessening of book reviews. It’s funny that for a blog originally intended to purely review books it has mutated into something where book reviews are the least popular things here. As such I am thinking about alternating between book reviews and book lists on Fridays, but I would appreciate feedback in the poll to guage opinion before I do anything rash

*Reviews of books including (but not limited to) The Mockingjay (the one from the Hunger Games trilogy), Lord of the Flies, a dabble in World War II spies and football thuggery, a spot of John Green and a touch of Christie. I’m exhausted just thinking about it (good job I’ve already written most of them)

How we’ve got here

It’s been a bit of a trek, but we seem to have arrived here after reviewing a whole load of books from A Bear Called Paddington to A Clockwork Orange and having 13 Flash Fiction Forays (along with 13 round up posts). Oh, and there was a world exclusive on the next Harry Potter book (go on, have a look, you know you’re curious…). In all the blog has racked up just over 4,000 views, which (ignoring for a minute the awkward fact that home-page hits count too) adds up to a total of 40 for each post. But I think the main reason I carried on blogging was the people-which leads me on to…

A lot of thank yous

Put simply, I have a lot of thank yous to say. I started writing them here, then reflected that not only would that make this post a little long, but (more importantly) these people deserve a post of their own. The post will hopefully be up tomorrow evening.

And lastly

Thank you for reading, following, liking, commenting, emailing, I really appreciate all these actions. I would love for the popularity of the blog to increase, but at the same time I really enjoy the close-knit community created by having a smaller blog. Where it goes from here is anyone’s guess, but I really hope that I can keep in touch with all my blogging friends and make some new ones!

8 thoughts on “Post 100-a celebration?

  1. Be patient. You never know when the blog may blossom into something really big and then you might wonder how to keep up with everything. I firmly believe that all things unfold pretty much as they should. So keep on plugging away. You’re done a totally awesome job, Matt! {{{Matt}}} Great post, btw…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

